About ISES

The International Solar Energy Society, ISES, works to achieve 100% renewable energy for all, used efficiently and wisely, by providing the global renewable energy community with a collective, scientifically credible voice and up-to-date information gathered and synthesized by its talented members.  

ISES, a non-profit UN-accredited membership NGO founded in 1954, has a long history of being the trusted global advisor on renewable energy and this remains its core value.

ISES informs and connects its extensive, diverse membership of researchers, academics, professionals, practitioners, businesses, decision makers, and advocates in more than 100 countries. 

ISES promotes solar research and development, provides authoritative advice on renewable energy issues worldwide, advocates for a sustainable global solar industry, supports career growth of Young ISES members, and promotes energy education at all levels.  

The ISES Solar World Congress, held biennially since the 1970's embodies the spirit of international networking and exchange of ideas advanced by the Society. Its objective is to maintain communication between the research community, industrial and political players. Learn more about past Solar World Congresses here: ises.org/what-we-do/events/solar-world-congress/

Past Solar World Congresses

The first ever international ISES Solar World Congress was held in 1970 when solar research pioneers met at the first ISES Conference in Melbourne, Australia. After that, the Solar World Congresses were held every two years in a different country. Here you can see all locations at one glance:


Time & Place  
1970: Melbourne, Australia 1999: Jerusalem, Israel
1971: Greenbelt, USA 2000: Mexico City, Mexico
1973: Paris, France 2001: Adelaide, Australia
1975: Los Angeles, USA 2003: Gothenburg, Sweden
1977: New Delhi, India (held 01/1978) 2005: Orlando, USA
1979: Atlanta, USA 2007: Beijing, China
1981: Brighton, UK 2009: Johannesburg, South Africa
1983: Perth, Australia 2011: Kassel, Germany
1985: Montreal, Canada 2013: Cancun, Mexico
1987: Hamburg, Germany 2015: Daegu, South Korea
1989: Kobe, Japan 2017: Abu Dhabi, UAE
1991: Denver, USA 2019: Santiago, Chile
1993: Budapest, Hungary 2021: Online
1995: Harare, Zimbabwe 2023: New Delhi, India
1997: Taejon, South Korea 2025: t.b.a.